Several of Detroit's finest have stepped up to remix George Clinton's legendary funk band Funkadelic for a new compilation.

Featuring the likes of Kenny Dixon Jr and his Moodymann alias, Underground Resistance, Claude Young, Andrés, Recloose, Amp Fiddler and Marcellus Pittman, Funkadelic Reworked By Detroiters spans 17 tracks over two CDs or three vinyl, and is out in late October via Westbound Records.

In his introduction to the set, the compilation's curator, Interdimensional Transmissions boss Brendan Gillen, said, "We are overwhelmed with how seriously the remixers took this project, turning in some of their best work." He also pointed out that Mike Banks of Underground Resistance actually played in Funkadelic early on in his career. So, too, did Amp Fiddler.

As RA notes, who didn't show up on the compilation is as equally impressive as who did. Theo Parrish, Carl Craig and Wajeed decided their reworks "just didn't hold up to Funkadelic's legacy," and refused to include them out of respect for the original work.

Moodymann's remix of "Cosmic Shop" will be out on vinyl next Friday, the 22nd. See the full tracklist for Funkadelic Reworked By Detroiters below.

Disc 1
01. Sexy Ways (Recloose Disco Flip)
02. You Can't Miss What You Can't Measure (Alton Miller Mix)
03. Get Off Your Ass And Jam (Marcellus Pittman Remix)
04. Cosmic Slop (Moodymann Mix)
05. Music For My Mother (Andres Wo Ahh Ay Vocal Mix)
06. Undisco Kidd (Gay Marvine Edit)
07. Super Stupid (Dirtbombs Version)
08. Take Your Dead Ass Home (The Fantasy Version)

Disc 2
01. Music 4 My Mother (Underground Resistance Mix)
02. Let's Take It To The Stage (Amp Fiddler Laughin @ Ya Mix)
03. Standing On The Verge (Anthony Shake Shakir & T Dancer Remix)
04. You And Your Folks (Claude Young Jr Club Mix)
05. Be My Beach (Mophono & Tom Thump)
06. You And Your Folks (Claude Young Jr Dub)
07. Let's Make It Last (Kenny Dixon Jr Edit)
08. Looking Back At You (Ectomorph Stripped And Dubbed)
09. Maggot Brain (BMG Dub)  

Via RA